Home > Community Features > Graduation 2022 > Southern Academy Class of 2022

Southern Academy Class of 2022

Mr. Michael Smith, Administrator, would like to recognize the academic award recipients and the candidates for graduation for the Southern Academy Class of 2022.

Valedictorian of the Class of 2022 is Lida Tunstall Lewis. Lida is the daughter of Eliza and Tripp Lewis and granddaughter of Winnie and Nicholas Cobb. While in high school, she played basketball, cheerleading, golf, tennis, and soccer. She has served as SGA president and FCA vice-president, as well as being a member of the drama team and volunteering for multiple community outreach projects through her youth group.

She has received the Greene/Hale County Scholar Athelete Award and was chosen as an AISA All-Star basketball player and All-Star cheerleader. Lida won the 2021 AISA State Oratorical Contest and was chosen as an All-State recipient for the AISA Drama Team. Her plans after graduation are to attend Birmingham-Southern College where she will play collegiate soccer while pursuing a double major in psychology and human rights and conflict studies.

Salutatorian of the Class of 2022 is Leah Beth Stewart. Leah Beth is the daughter of Terry and Belinda Stewart. She has lettered in basketball, softball, and cheerleading since the ninth grade. Leah Beth was also selected as an AISA All-Star cheerleader and for the ASIA Junior-Class All-Star softball team. Academically, she has served as a member of the National Honor Society for three years, and participated on the scholar’s bowl team and in drama club. She is an active member of the SGA and class government, currently serving as SGA vice-president and senior class chaplain. Beginning in fall 2022, she plans to attend the University of West Alabama and play collegiate softball while obtaining a bachelor’s degree in biology.

Candidates for Graduation are: Joshua Trent Barley, Haleigh Evan Bedwell, Eli Norman Cleary, Houston Evan Collins, Auden Russell Davis, Grace Katherine Duncan, Colston Giles Fultz, Grant Anthony Hargroder, Savannah Grace Hoggle, Jordan Elizabeth James, Houston Taylor Jones, Lida Tunstall Lewis, Marianna Preston Pearson, Josie Lynn Poole, Emma Mary-Logan Pope, Cheyenne Sherie Skinner Sheffield, Leah Beth Stewart, Conrad Whitfield Taylor, James Arthur Thomas, Henry Richardson Webb, Trinity Paige Wilkinson.

The school colors are blue and white, and the mascot is the cougar. The school motto isPro Christo et Republica (For Christ and Republic) and the magnolia is the school flower.

The class officers are as follows: President – Trent Barley, Vice President – Grant Hargroder, Secretary – Trinity Wilkinson, Chaplain – Leah Beth Stewart. The Class of 2022’s flower is the white tulip. Their class colors are royal blue, white and orange. Their class motto is “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams” Eleanor Roosevelt.

Graduation was held May 12, 2022 at 6:30 PM in the school gymnasium.