Home > News > Perry high school seniors receive two inaugural Eleanor Drake scholarships

Perry high school seniors receive two inaugural Eleanor Drake scholarships

The Perry County Historical and Preservation Society (PCHPS) is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Eleanor C. Drake Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship was established in honor of Mrs. Eleanor Compton Drake, a local historian and one of the twelve original members of the PCHPS Board of Directors. Mrs. Drake served on the board for forty-seven years until her death in 2021. She was a passionate advocate for the preservation of Perry County’s history, and her work helped to ensure that the county’s rich history would be preserved for future generations.

The scholarship is open to graduating seniors from Perry County high schools who plan to pursue a degree in history or a related field. The winners of the scholarship are:

  • Albernik Paige, a senior at Robert C. Hatch High School in Uniontown
  • Asia Clemons, a senior at Francis Marion High School in Marion

Paige and Clemons were selected based on their academic achievements, their commitment to history, and their essays on the importance of preserving Perry County’s history.

“We are thrilled to award these scholarships to Albernik and Asia,” said Dudley Long of the PCHPS.

“They are both outstanding students with a deep appreciation for history. We are confident that they will continue to make significant contributions to the preservation of Perry County’s history.”

The PCHPS is grateful to the donors who made this scholarship possible. The scholarship is an important part of the PCHPS’s mission to preserve Perry County’s history and to encourage the younger generations to learn about and appreciate the county’s rich past.

For more information about the PCHPS or to make a donation, please visit www.perrycountyhistoricalsociety.org.