Home > News > Who’s on the ballot May 24? Perry County sample ballots now available

Who’s on the ballot May 24? Perry County sample ballots now available

Sample ballots reflecting those for the upcoming Perry County party primary election set for Tuesday, May 24 are now available online and in the Perry County Probate Office.

Online, sample ballots for each county’s primary elections are available with this story, or on the Alabama Secretary of State’s website at https://www.sos.alabama.gov/alabama-votes/2022-primary-election-sample-ballots.

A sample ballot for Perry County is also available on our website at https://perrycountyherald.net, and on page 6 of this week’s newspaper.

Voters may select to vote either a Democratic or Republican ballot in the primary election.

Democratic Ticket
In the Democratic primary, there will be six candidates vying for the nomination for governor. They are: Yolanda Rochelle Flowers, Malika Sanders Fortier, Patricia Slater Jamieson, Arthur Kennedy, Chad “Chig” Martin, and Doug “New Blue” Smith.

For U.S. Senator, three candidates will seek the nomination: Will Boyd, Brandaun Dean, and Lanny Jackson.

For Alabama State Senator, District 23, the seat vacated by gubernatorial candidate Malika Sanders Fortier, four candidates are seeking the nomination: Darrio Melton, Hank Sanders, Thayer “Bear” Spencer, and Robert L. Stewart.

For State Representative, District 67, which includes most of Perry County following the most recent reapportionment of state legislative districts, the two candidates will be Prince Chestnut and Larine Irby Pettway.

For State Representative, District 68, which includes the portion of Perry County located south of Highway 80 following the most recent reapportionment of state legislative districts, incumbent State Rep. Thomas Jackson will go unchallenged.

For District Attorney of the Fourth Judicial Circuit, incumbent Michael Jackson will face off against Marion attorney Robert H. Turner, Jr.

For Perry County Coroner, which is being vacated by longtime incumbent George Pullom, the two candidates will be Edward Jones, Sr. and Vinnie Royster.

For Alabama Democratic Executive Committee (Female), for District 67, the candidates will be Abina Billups and Loudell Bryant.

For Perry County Democratic Executive Committee, District 4, the candidates will be Richard Bryant, Jeffery M. Easley, Barbara K. How, Jamaal O. Hunter, Henrietta E. Jones, Josephine Taylor Moore, Larry W. Strother, and Melvin Turner. For this position, votes may select no more than seven candidates.

Republican Ticket
For the Republican primary, there will be nine candidates vying for the gubernatorial nomination. They are: Lindy Blanchard, Lew Burdette, Stacy Lee George, incumbent Gov. Kay Ivey, Tim James, Donald Trent Jones, Dean Odle, Dave Thomas, and Dean Young.

Six candidates will seek the Republic nomination for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Richard Shelby. They are: Lillie Boddie, Katie Britt, Mo Brooks, Karla M. Dupriest, Mike Durant, and Jake Schafer.

Two candidates will seek the party’s nomination for Attorney General, including current incumbent Steve Marshall and challenger Harry Bartlett Still III.

For Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place 5, Greg Cook and Debra Jones will seek the nomination.

For Secretary of State, Wes Allen, Christian Horn, Ed Packard, and Jim Zeigler will vie for the party’s nomination.

The ticket includes three candidates for State Auditor: Stan Cooke, Rusty Glover, and Andrew Sorrell.

For Public Service Commission, Place I, the candidates will be John Hammock, Stephen McLamb, Jeremy H. Oden, and Brent Woodall.

For Public Service Commission, Place 2, the candidates will be Chip Beeker, Robin Litaker, and Robert L. McCollum.

Statewide Constitutional Amendment
Both parties’ ballots will include a Yes-or-No referendum on proposed Statewide Amendment 1, which would authorize the state to issue and sell bonds in an amount up to $85,000,000 for the purposes of the improvement, renovation, equipping, acquisition, provision, construction, and maintenance of Alabama’s state parks, public historical sites, and public historical parks.

More Primary 2022 Coverage: